Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1968 Half Dollar DDR plus

I am still new to coin collecting and coin roll searching. Here is one I recently found. Aside from the DDR, does anyone see anything else?

Tagged:

Comments

• Options

@ifthevamzarockin said:
    Not a DDR that's machine doubling. ;)

What is the difference?

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 6, 2022 9:35AM

Sorry, but it isn't a doubled die, only mechanical doubling which adds no value

Spend time on the the following site to learn about hub doubling. Read the tabs in doubleddie marked Worthless Doubling and Doubled dies to learn the characteristics. Also look at the section on how dies are made.

Www.doubleddie.com
    Www.varietyvista.com

Edit to add

Everything else looks like normal circulation wear and tear. No errors

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options

Thank you, I will keep researching. It really is fun and exciting but there is so much to learn.

• Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum! :)

This is a great place to learn and get help..... stick around.

• Options
    MarkKelleyMarkKelley Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭✭✭

Doubled dies on silver Kennedy halves are easy to find, but I'm sorry to say yours is not one. Keep looking, they're out there!

• Options
    SHAWNK4368SHAWNK4368 Posts: 45 ✭✭

On true doubled dies, the raised elements of the coin where doubled are usually the same height, not the shelf like drop off of machine doubling.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@JWoody1979... Welcome aboard.... As stated above, machine doubling, not a DDR. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    justmenutty72justmenutty72 Posts: 394 ✭✭✭
    edited July 7, 2022 5:16PM