Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1914 s Lincoln cent DDR? What the heck please help with this error

Comments

• Options

I meant to continue before I publish this I looked through Wexler’s and could not find any DDR references but this is in my opinion not hub doubling or mechanical doubling but an error doubling it follows the pattern of counter clockwise I believe but then again I’m new at this if anybody can help please let me know thank you

• Options
    justmenutty72justmenutty72 Posts: 394 ✭✭✭
    edited July 3, 2022 6:04PM

Strike doubling aka mechanical doubling aka machine doubling. And by the way, it’s a 1912-S

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

Read about the characteristics of mechanical/strike doubling vs true doubling here

https://www.doubleddie.com/144801.html

https://www.doubleddie.com/58222.html

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭✭

It sure looks like mechanical doubling (aka strike doubling) and absolutely looks like a 1912-S, not a 1914-S. Sorry...

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭✭✭

No DDR. Above posts are correct.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options
    1Mike11Mike1 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not a DDR and not an error and not a 1914D. Three strikes you're out. :D

"May the silver waves that bear you heavenward be filled with love’s whisperings"

"A dog breaks your heart only one time and that is when they pass on". Unknown
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Numinewbie... Welcome aboard. Your coin has machine doubling.... Not a DDR. Cheers, RickO

• Options