Options

Jacksonville mail carrier robbed at gunpoint

derrybderryb Posts: 36,217 ✭✭✭✭✭

Give Me Liberty or Give Me Debt

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭✭✭

Was your package coins?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    derrybderryb Posts: 36,217 ✭✭✭✭✭

yes, when there's more than will fit in the mailbox or high dollar value I carry them to the PO one mile away.

Give Me Liberty or Give Me Debt

• Options

Can't argue with that. Good move!! 👍🏻 I make it a point to be home watching for the carrier when I'm expecting a package.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    TreashuntTreashunt Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭✭✭

@PerryHall said:
    At one time before checking accounts were common, people would send cash including large sums of money through the mail. At that time, mail carriers were issued revolvers to be carried during mail deliveries because they were the frequent targets of robbers.

Wow!

Frank

BHNC #203

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭✭✭

I was 13 at that time in 1961 and do not remember this happening nor postal employees packing guns, but it did happen nationwide, while the threat of death seemed minimal, tremendous beatings were taken place during robberies, even of women clerks. Thanks @PerryHall for a very informative post. They were trained on firearm use, looking for firearms and handling of weapons and ammunition. .38's were the weapons of choice by the government.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options
    amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭