Home Metal Detecting
Options

M1866 Chassepot Yataghan Sword Bayonet

slimiesslimies Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited June 10, 2022 5:50PM in Metal Detecting

Years ago my dad was friends with someone ( since passed away about 10 yrs ago ) who had a farm near where part of the battle took place and he had stuff on display on his walls that he had dug . while dad was visiting they were ploughing and the blade hit something with a clunk so they stopped and went to get the shovel and detector. was a bit of a dig but they pulled out this sword still in the scabbard. He gave it to my dad and last night dad gave it to me so now its mine and am putting something together to display it on my desk .

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,829 ✭✭✭✭✭

Stunning find!! Brilliant!! 👍🏻

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    edited June 3, 2022 6:20PM

thankyou . wish i had been able to see his other finds . at least i have the sword . am unsure if its cavalry or ?

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@slimies.... Wow... That is an incredible find, and appears to be in great condition. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    Bayard1908Bayard1908 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 4, 2022 8:14AM

That's an endearing story; however, I can't help but be dubious about it. The artifact looks too well preserved to have been dug, and I don't see any damage where a plow supposedly hit it.

I don't have the expertise to date the artifact; however, I would be interested to know what markings are on the blade. It wouldn't surprise me if this is a bayonet and much later than 1812.

• Options

Quick internet search for "French bayonet" makes me think this is a Chassepot bayonet from the 1860s.

• Options

@Bayard1908 said: