Home U.S. Coin Forum

When Mint Workers Deliberately Made Proof Error Coins

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

The Mints response?........No Comment.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• ByersByers Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes- legal to own, buy and sell!

A group of proof mint errors that came from a collection held in a safety deposit box was auctioned by the State of California. The U.S. Secret Service inspected and released this collection to the State of California determining that it was legal to own. The State of California then auctioned the collection and it has been dispersed since the sale.

There were some unique exotic and dramatic proof error coins in that group.

Recently another collection that was held intact for 45 years was sold. The 3 leaf clover proof Ike dollars were from that collection, which realized $105k in a Heritage Auction.

mikebyers.com Dealer in Major Mint Errors, Die Trials & Patterns - Author of NLG Best World Coin Book World's Greatest Mint Errors - Publisher & Editor of minterrornews.com.
    mikebyers.com Dealer in Major Mint Errors, Die Trials & Patterns - Author of NLG Best World Coin Book World's Greatest Mint Errors - Publisher & Editor of minterrornews.com.

Some mint state error coins were deliberately struck as well, most likely these😁

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Deliberately made anomalies are not errors. Due to the nature of some errors, it is not possible to determine whether intentional or true error. If obviously an intentional creation - rather than error - IMO, they are not worth collecting. Obviously, others do not agree. Cheers, RickO

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ricko said: