Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Real or fake 1972 DDO Lincoln

VetterVetter Posts: 789 ✭✭✭✭✭

A friend of mine showed me this coin that he’s had for a long time. I’m not very good with Lincoln cents so I’m asking for your opinion. I’m leaning towards fake. No reason why, but something about it makes me think it not real. What should the weight range be on it? Thanks

Members I have done business with:
Silverman68, jfoot13, GAB, ricman, Smittys, scrapman1077, RyGuy, Connecticoin, Meltdown, VikingDude, Peaceman, Patches and more.

Comments

• Options
    CryptoCrypto Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think real but I would want to weight it. Crisp details for an EF weight should be about 3.1 grams

• Options
    LanceNewmanOCCLanceNewmanOCC Posts: 19,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

just for convenience. MAX

<--- look what's behind the mask! - cool link 1/NO ~ 2/NNP ~ 3/NNC ~ 4/CF ~ 5/PG ~ 6/Cert ~ 7/NGC 7a/NGC pop~ 8/NGCF ~ 9/HA archives ~ 10/PM ~ 11/NM ~ 12/ANACS cert ~ 13/ANACS pop - report fakes 1/ACEF ~ report fakes/thefts 1/NCIS - Numi-Classes SS ~ Bass ~ Transcribed Docs NNP - clashed coins - error training - V V mm styles -

• Options
    MarkKelleyMarkKelley Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭✭✭

My gut says it's genuine.

• Options
    silverpopsilverpop Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    FlyingAlFlyingAl Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭✭✭

It appears genuine to me.

Young Numismatist, Coin Photographer.

• Options
    telephoto1telephoto1 Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks genuine but weird color. Perhaps it's the lighting. Weigh it to be sure but I see no obvious red flags

RIP Mom- 1932-2012
  • Options
    GaCoinGuyGaCoinGuy Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭✭

The weight should be right around 3.11 grams, I think.

imageimage

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sure looks authentic to me..... A little wear, but I do not see anything that shouts fake. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 27,503 ✭✭✭✭✭

It looks OK to me

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,891 ✭✭✭✭✭