Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1919 DDO Mercury

Going through my mercury dimes that I found with my metal dectctor over the last 45 years, I found a 1919 Philly. I see the new buzz about the DDO version with the doubled motto. What I cannot find, however, is one with all four digits of the date doubled instead of the motto. Is this a version that I should send somewhere for verification or are doubled date mercuries just all in the $20 range?

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭✭✭

Send it here with a picture first.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options

Not sure how to attach picture to comment, sorry.

• Options
    jonathanbjonathanb Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭✭✭

@eaglethree said:
    are doubled date mercuries just all in the $20 range?

You added an extra digit. Doubling on a coin almost always is a form of damage. Your coin is worth about $2, for the silver that it contains.

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,871 ✭✭✭✭✭

@eaglethree said:
    Not sure how to attach picture to comment, sorry.

As a new member you will have to wait a few days before you are allowed to upload photos, you can post a link to any photos.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    FlyingAlFlyingAl Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭✭✭

Coin Photographer.

• Options
    BuffaloIronTailBuffaloIronTail Posts: 7,431 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 23, 2022 3:37PM

This one got away from everyone and was not found till years later. I can't see where it could have been missed. However, it is not a date and mint that anyone would stop and look at, common as it is (and was).

It's worth another look.

Pete

"I tell them there's no problems.....only solutions" - John Lennon
  • Options