Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Classic Silver Commemoratives on the rise again?

2»

Comments

• Options
    JW77JW77 Posts: 464 ✭✭✭✭✭

Really Nice set of matched commemoratives, and yes, the gold accents are the cherry!

• Options
    BarberianBarberian Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice to see classic commemoratives finally showing some signs of life.

3 rim nicks away from Good
  • Options
    DisneyFanDisneyFan Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭✭✭

@DisneyFan said:

@PerryHall said:

I never did get a response to my question. How is the classic gold commemorative market doing these days? I'm primarily talking about the gold dollars and quarter eagles. What say you? :)

I'm not an expert on classic gold commemoratives for the simple reason that they are easily found. I like coins that are difficult to find. In the latest update for a set of MS66s (which is completely out of my league) went from $614,700 to $615,800. The two $50 Panamas for $390,000 alone did not move at all.

Great Collections provides an Auction Archive. Check it out, compare the populations and prices to the silvers ,and let us know what you think. My though is they are lagging the market. The question is - are they undervalued or still overpriced.

I did some further research. A lot has to do with the popularity of owning gold commemoratives. A $1 gold coin has a little less than $100 in melt value. There are 95 1905 Lewis and Clark in PCGS MS66. PCGS price guide is $9,750. An unloved 1937-S Arkansas in PCGS M66 has a price guide of $750 and a population of 86! Of course, a MS66 Lafayette with a pop of 89 goes for $12,000. Compared to the gold commemoratives, there are some good values in the silvers.

• Options
    JJMJJM Posts: 8,008 ✭✭✭✭✭