Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Where are my other African coin collectors out there?

Hey there! I know I am pretty new to the PCGS forums, but I am certainly not new to the Set Registry lol! Is anyone else from the African Section of the Set Registry on here?
Hoping to meet some new people!

Comments

• SwampboySwampboy Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not an African coin collector here but I'll post this just to say Welcome.

• Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Still_In_Circ Welcome to the party. Stick around and show us something. How bout an error or three? Peace Roy

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52

• 7Jaguars7Jaguars Posts: 7,228 ✭✭✭✭✭

Well, I do like a few - Dahomey, Biafra, Seychelles (does that count)?

Love that Milled British (1830-1960)
    Well, just Love coins, period.
  • SYRACUSIANSYRACUSIAN Posts: 6,445 ✭✭✭✭

And I have a soft spot for Egypt, but I’m guessing that it isn’t what you’re looking for.

Dimitri

myEbay

DPOTD 3
  • 291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭✭

Long ago I had a very presentable collection of Ethiopian and Eritrean coins. At the time, the 1970's, I knew of only a few other people who collected them. I wonder if there are more today?

I only have a few Ethiopian pieces left. The most interesting of these is the 1944 25 cent coin with the original scalloped reeding that was added to the round versions shortly after their issue. The reeding, which was added in Ethiopia, is much different from that applied to later versions of the coins and is easily identifiable. The piece I have is well worn but it is also the only example I have seen.