Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1797 Rev of 1797 no stems S-133 Draped bust? Calling on all EAC collectors for thoughts.

Trying to get better pictures as we speak. Thanks.

Successful transactions with: Jinx86, Flcardtrader, Robkool, JWP.

Comments

• Options
    Coinslave87Coinslave87 Posts: 184 ✭✭✭

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,481 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am leery of this piece. It might just be corroded surfaces that account for the roughness. It might also be because the piece was cast. It’s a tough call going only by the pictures.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • Options
    CryptoCrypto Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks legit but I’m not a copper expert

• Options

@Walkerguy21D thoughts?

• Options
    AotearoaAotearoa Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭✭✭

That level of porosity is not at all uncommon for DBLCs. It's an R.5 coin. Rare but not super rare. It looks authentic to me.

Smitten with DBLCs.

• Options
    Walkerguy21DWalkerguy21D Posts: 11,147 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hard to tell. Certainly shares many attributes, but the date (from what I can tell?), seems off, as does the I and B in LIBERTY.