Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Why so long for auction houses to settle with a consignor? Not whining, actually want to know.

BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭✭

So I recently sold a few things with GC, and this isn't meant to pick on them in any way. They say they take somewhere around a month to settle the invoice and send payment. Often it's quicker than that. I've sold some coins with HA, and if I remember correctly it's 45 business days, or about two months before they send payment. I have no experience with Legend or Stacks. The auction houses aren't sneaky about it and their policies are clearly spelled out in their terms.

Yes, they'll give you a cash advance if you ask for it. I haven't explored the terms of that. I assume there's some finance charge built in, but that's a guess on my part. I've always felt that if I was that desperate I shouldn't be playing around in an expensive hobby anyhow.

I understand them wanting funds to clear before they forward payment to the consignor, but it seems to me that if they were genuinely worried about it, they'd also hold on to the coins until payment was certain. Usually, the coins go out to their new owners in few days.

Yes they can make money holding a pile of other people's money for a couple months, but I'm curious if there's something I'm not thinking about.

Comments

• Options
    MasonGMasonG Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭✭✭

Are they allowing time for winning bidders to get their lots and make sure everything is okay and nothing is coming back?

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,438 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ianrussell Since you specifically mentioned GC, maybe the owner who is a member here can shed some light on the time it takes to make payments to the consignors.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,962 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 27, 2021 6:08PM