Home Q & A Forum

Is it possible...

To ship coins by sticking it in my mailbox? Or do I have to go to the post office?

I love life and life seems to love me!

DISCLAIMER: Please, don't take my advice or comments as fact... I am only using my knowledge of coins and I AM NOT an expert and am not as knowledgeable at coins as many of the other members here.

Best Answer

• Steven59Steven59 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 14, 2021 12:09PM Accepted Answer

Sure. as long as the envelope/package fits in the box the mail carrier will take it. (Raise the flag)
    And if you have a printer it's better to print postage labels with tracking numbers (First class/Priority Mail)
    To make sure the carrier picks it up you can go to the USPS website and schedule a pickup.
    https://tools.usps.com/schedule-pickup-steps.htm

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”
    ― Will Rogers

Answers

• @Steven59 said:
    Sure. as long as the envelope/package fits in the box the mail carrier will take it. (Raise the flag)
    And if you have a printer it's better to print postage labels with tracking numbers (First class/Priority Mail)
    To make sure the carrier picks it up you can go to the USPS website and schedule a pickup.
    https://tools.usps.com/schedule-pickup-steps.htm

Thank you!

I love life and life seems to love me!

DISCLAIMER: Please, don't take my advice or comments as fact... I am only using my knowledge of coins and I AM NOT an expert and am not as knowledgeable at coins as many of the other members here.

• KliaoKliao Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've shipped many packages out from selling on eBay just by placing them in my mailbox. I wouldn't recommend it for higher value items though. If the package is of higher value, I would take it to the local PO and have it scanned to activate the insurance on it.

Young Numismatist/collector
    41 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 26 members and counting!