Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is it possible to reassemble the Sultan of Muscat Set?

ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,811 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited August 15, 2021 7:41AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Here's the King of Siam set in its original holder. Given that these coins are now in individual slabs, the holder doesn't matter as much any more for presentation.

Some questions:

1. When was the Sultan of Muscat set broken up?
  2. How many of the Sultan of Muscat coins are known?
  3. Is it possible to reassemble the set?

The Eagle

The Dollar

The Quarter

This coin is speculated to be the quarter:

The provenance goes back to Colonel Green:

Stack's Bowers wrote:
Provenance: Col. E.H.R. Green Collection; partnership of Eric P. Newman and Burdette G. Johnson; Eric P. Newman, by trade; Washington University of St. Louis, by gift, ca. 1952-54; Mrs. Emery May Norweb Collection, via New Netherlands Coin Company, by sale, November 5, 1954; Bowers and Merena’s sale of the Norweb Collection, Part II, March 1988, lot 1554; Heritage’s sale of the Andre Dawson Collection, September 1998, lot 6650; Bowers and Merena’s Rarities Sale of August 1999, lot 134; Superior Galleries’ sale of February 2001, lot 5430; Heritage’s sale of November 2002, lot 11487.

Comments

• ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,811 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 15, 2021 7:33AM

@ColonelJessup said:

@Zoins said:
    Here's the King of Siam set in its original holder. Given that these coins are now in individual slabs, the holder doesn't matter as much any more for presentation.

Have you become so incognizant of history that you think the long-famous "yellow morocco presentation case" is the equivalent of a TPG holder?

Wake up and change this load-of-crap characterization before more people are mislead by your statement. >:)

Please re-read what I wrote:

the holder doesn't matter as much any more for presentation.