Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

newman rings vs newton rings info:

blurryfaceblurryface Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭✭✭

“hello newman”

not sure what to actually call these. often times they get labeled as “newton rings” and collectors often think that it is an optical illusion that causes zero harm to the cards they appear on. i have zero experience in the comic book world but apparently these occur quite often in holdered books however cause zero damage. just putting these pics out there so folks know that the phenomenon that occurs w comics does not automatically equate to zero damage when it comes to trading cards. while the appearance is eerily similar, the damage can be quite real. while instances of newton rings in psa holders could still be just that, there are several instances, especially that of a certain range of panini cards coupled w the plastic inner pvc sleeve that can cause a perhaps chemical(?) reaction that leaves a sticky’ish residue. sometimes it quite certainly resembles the look of newton rings. while i am no chemist, from my limited experience in the modern arena, these “newman” rings are caused by a mixture of:

• humidity. particularly that of the coastal south east.
  • inferior penny sleeves (will post pics of ones to avoid/use below)
  • panini cards from at least 2016 - 2019. esp optic & mosaic. these years listed are merely from my experience.