Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Restoring a *corroded* coin - now with pic

Coinman999Coinman999 Posts: 41
edited July 17, 2021 2:11PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I found a coin that I would love for my collection. It appears to be in XF condition except that the obverse has what looks like dozens of mold spots on it. Reverse looks good. Asking price is in the VG-Fine range.

Would you buy this coin in the hopes that an acetone soak would clear up the mold? I have zero experience with any kind of cleaning.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    rec78rec78 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭✭✭

A photo would help. What is it? You do different things with different metals.

• Options

I have no photo, but it is silver, covered with mold spots on the one side. Barber quarter.

• Options
    SonorandesertratSonorandesertrat Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭✭✭

Are you sure that mold is on the surface? Copper and silver ions are toxic to fungi.

Member: EAC, NBS, C4, CWTS, ANA

RMR: 'Wer, wenn ich schriee, hörte mich denn aus der Engel Ordnungen?'

CJ: 'No one!' [Ain't no angels in the coin biz]
  • Options

Not an expert, but looks like mold to me. Tons of spots ... is there something else that might cause this type of damage?

• Options
    NumisOxideNumisOxide Posts: 10,990 ✭✭✭✭✭

Picture needed. What color is this "mold"? Could be corrosion, pvc, etc.

• Options

It is a dark grey. If Pvc is always green that that's not going to be it ... no hint of green.

• Options
    rec78rec78 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭✭✭

It is hard to say, some top mold you can remove, but imbedded mold it may be best to leave it alone.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,219 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 17, 2021 2:40PM

@Coinman999 said:
    It is a dark grey. If Pvc is always green that that's not going to be it ... no hint of green.

I doubt it is mold. It is likely corrosion which will not wash off with acetone. Removal would leave the coin pitted.

• Options

Was able to find a pic. Thoughts?

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,511 ✭✭✭✭✭