Home U.S. Coin Forum

1921 Morgan Dollar question - New Collector - please forgive if this has been asked

Hi there,
I have been collecting for about 2 years, but too embarrassed to actually post anything because I am such a newbie. My mother has a 1921 Morgan Dollar she wanted me to find more information about, however, I am so confused when I try to research it.

I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me identify what type this is, and any idea if it was valued at the lower end level or more toward the $35 level?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,618 ✭✭✭✭✭

The low end these days is $25. That should be in the $35 range easily.

• Dnice8Dnice8 Posts: 48 ✭✭✭

Thank you! It doesn't have a mint on it, so I couldn't figure out how to search it. I really appreciate your response.

• messydeskmessydesk Posts: 19,642 ✭✭✭✭✭

No mint mark = Philadelphia, often referred to as P. Yours is not a stunning 1921 Morgan, but better than a low-end coin. $35 seems right for this one.

• Dnice8Dnice8 Posts: 48 ✭✭✭

Thanks so much for the kind welcome, as well as the advice. I have about 65 coins I want to have reviewed because I am not well-versed enough to know if they are worth holding onto at this time. For instance, I have 6 mercury dimes, 22 1982 pennies (the dates look different on 3), etc.

I am fairly certain they aren't worth much, but I'd like to know before I put them back in circulation, or give them to my nephews.

Would you guys recommend I take them somewhere local, or send them in a batch to a place like ANACS for appraisal?

• ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

As long as you are able to post clear photos you can get a good idea here. ;)

• jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,155 ✭✭✭✭✭