Home U.S. Coin Forum

Coin Photography System

CoinscratchCoinscratch Posts: 8,596 ✭✭✭✭✭

Finally made time to try out the new camera and I absolutely love it!
I will need more time to read up and understand photography and lighting as I am a beginner but here are some photos on my first time out.

Shout Out! To @rmpsrpms for the new system - Thanks!

I'll post more here as I progress :)

Comments

• ctf_error_coinsctf_error_coins Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭✭

Coins are too yellow, work on your white balance.

• yspsalesyspsales Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭✭✭

Take an image.

In camera go to custom white balance setting.

Select that image, retake shot and the new image and all following will be corrected for WB

Nice start BTW

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• CoinscratchCoinscratch Posts: 8,596 ✭✭✭✭✭

I couldn’t find the WB setting so I bypassed that step. Is it on the camera or the software?

@CoinscratchFever said:
    I couldn’t find the WB setting so I bypassed that step. Is it on the camera or the software?

Both, best in the camera and then subtle changes in the software.

• JimnightJimnight Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nice set-up!

• cheezhedcheezhed Posts: 5,771 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very nice

Many happy BST transactions
  • coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭✭

excellent first shots; one suggestion is to talk to Ray about getting a diffusor for the lights, that will really help with the hot and cold spots.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.

@coinbuf said:
    excellent first shots; one suggestion is to talk to Ray about getting a diffusor for the lights, that will really help with the hot and cold spots.

I never use a diffuser, I love highlights and shadows.

• KurisuKurisu Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 17, 2021 2:10PM

The white balance is determined by the color temperature of your lights.