Options

1923-S Lincoln Cent

USSID17USSID17 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭✭✭

Error or PMD?

Comments

• Options
    raysrays Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 14, 2021 7:50PM

I don't think that's an error, but I am not an error expert. Nevertheless it has a nice strike for a 1923-S.

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭✭

I do not see how you could have what appear to me as raised lines running under the letters from PMD. However I' am not an error coin expert and am equally unsure how that would happen during the striking process.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    mannie graymannie gray Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

PMD

• Options
    Batman23Batman23 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

That is interesting. My first instinct is to say PMD. The letters do not appear to be spaced consistently. But I am not sure how that was made. I look forward to seeing what the experts have to say.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

That is a weird one....I look forward to seeing what @FredWeinberg has to say about this. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    seanqseanq Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭✭✭

My first instinct is that it was struck through a multistruck fragment. The mechanism would be similar to a dropped letter, where something filled the die then fell out and was struck into the surface of a subsequent coin, but on a larger scale.

Very interested to hear what other error guys think of it.

Sean Reynolds

Incomplete planchets wanted, especially Lincoln Cents & type coins.

"Keep in mind that most of what passes as numismatic information is no more than tested opinion at best, and marketing blather at worst. However, I try to choose my words carefully, since I know that you guys are always watching." - Joe O'Connor
  • Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭✭✭