Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

A 1909- VDB ebay counterfeit (Not an S-VDB)

MarkW63MarkW63 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭✭
edited March 31, 2021 1:18PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Wow! I'm going to call this one a Cast Counterfeit.
Full luster!
No Wear!
Grainy texture of a likely Cast Counterfeit!
But!!!
Look at the V.D.B the period location after the D would be a San Fransisco mint location?
The center bar of the B is wrong?
At $428.00 and not being a coin expert I'm calling this FAKE!
Posted only for discussion and for the experts to make the official call!

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1909-VDB-Lincoln-Wheat-Cent-Looks-Prooflike-PL-Rims-are-Somewhat-Square/294068811510?_trkparms=aid=1110006&algo=HOMESPLICE.SIM&ao=1&asc=231647&meid=473d279b138240c68830bf718e9df656&pid=101195&rk=1&rkt=12&mehot=pf&sd=303940412381&itm=294068811510&pmt=1&noa=0&pg=2047675&algv=SimplAMLv9PairwiseUnbiasedWeb&_trksid=p2047675.c101195.m1851

"I Prefer Dangerous Freedom Over Peaceful Slavery"
Thomas Jefferson!

Comments

• Options
    FredFFredF Posts: 526 ✭✭✭

Not judging whether or not it's genuine (it's not my series or my area of expertise), if this were a 65 RB it's not even a $100 coin. Why invest in counterfeiting it?

Successful BST (me as buyer) with: Collectorcoins, PipestonePete, JasonRiffeRareCoins

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,225 ✭✭✭✭✭
    1. I've seen counterfeited common date wheats
    2. there are counterfeit silver eagles worth less than a $100
    3. the better they are at handling them, the higher above 65 they will be
    Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options

@FredF said:
    Not judging whether or not it's genuine (it's not my series or my area of expertise), if this were a 65 RB it's not even a $100 coin. Why invest in counterfeiting it?