Home Precious Metals

Newbie Antique Silver Flatware Valuation Help!

Hi, I inherited some silver flatware sets and greatly appreciate help with valuation (economic, setting aside sentimental).

There are 6 sets of 6 pieces each (36 total pieces), each with “Treasury Silver PATD 1921” on the bottom. They look to be in good condition (no obvious/major flaws) and have a cursive “L” on the front representing a maiden name.

Thank you, it’s much appreciated as I have absolutely no idea where to begin!

Comments

• TomBTomB Posts: 20,697 ✭✭✭✭✭

Howdy and welcome.

I am not an expert on flatware, but you will have to find out if your pieces are silver-plate or silver. If they are silver they likely have hallmarks on them and at least something to indicate the fineness such as "0.925" and/or "sterling". If they are silver-plate they will not have these markings. These hallmarks can often be found along the back neck of the spoons or forks as well as perhaps at the base of the bowl of a spoon.

In my experience, silver-plate is worth very little while sterling silver flatware should be worth at least its weight (and sometimes significantly more) in silver.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• BaleyBaley Posts: 22,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

Weigh the sterling forks and spoons, but realize that the knives likely have stainless blades and hollow, plaster filled handles.

Liberty: Parent of Science & Industry

• WeissWeiss Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 14, 2021 1:48PM

@Moog16 , check the piece again? This time very, very carefully :)

If it says "TREASURE" and "STERLING Patd 1921" rather than "Treasury Silver Patd 1921" then it is almost certainly solid sterling silver and made by a well-known and somewhat in demand company called Lunt Silversmiths.

We are like children who look at print and see a serpent in the last letter but one, and a sword in the last.
    --Severian the Lame