Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2020-W American Samoa Error Coin - Missing V75 Privy Mark

I pulled about 900 uncirculated 2020-W American Samoa coins out of cases in the Spring of 2020 and only found 2 that were missing the V75 privy mark. It's basically just a hole where the "V75" is supposed to be. I sent one into PCGS to be graded as an error and they sent it back with no error designation and an MS64 grade. Every time I've complained to them about an order I've sent in they basically just tell me to go pound sand, so I'm not even sure if it's worth it to push the issue with them. I'm an amateur collector anyway, so I'm not even sure if this should be considered an error. Looks like it to me though. Does anyone have any opinion on whether or not this is actually an error coin? And if so, should I call PCGS and request a regrade? I've never seen another one like this on eBay or anywhere else, so if this is actually an error, any thoughts on what it might be worth would be welcome too. Thanks!

Answers

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,752 ✭✭✭✭✭

Really can't tell much from those photos. Seems to be something there.

Did you pay the error rate, or just the normal grading fee?

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@mrbliss72 ... Welcome aboard.... We cannot determine detail from those pictures... I understand from your description that the internal detail on the privy stamp is not there. That often can occur due to a grease filled die...
    Better pictures of the privy mark would help us to provide a more exact conclusion. Cheers, RickO

• Options

This is the only pic I can find that I took prior to sending it into PCGS guys.

• Options

The outline of the Reflecting Pool is fully visible, but on the inside there is only the left side of the "V", no "7", the top half of the "5" is slightly visible, but it's...crushed (for lack of a better word)...into the hole that's in the center of the Privy Mark, and lastly the bottom half of the "5" is visible.