Home Precious Metals
Options

For you lifetime stackers

I’m fairly new to adding some gold and silver positions to my portfolio. Can anyone school me on a history lesson about these massive premiums right now. I realize every situation is different, but in the past when the premiums exploded this far over spot how long did it take to settle back to normal?

Comments

• Options
    blitzdudeblitzdude Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭✭✭

Look at the numbers the mint has been cranking out. Almost 7M ASEs so far this year. Another made up shortage by the gutter peddlers. This has happened many times in the past. As far as when premiums return to normal nobody knows for sure but it usually doesn't last long. 1-3 months typically. Once the masses lose interest and decide to move on to the next shinny object premiums will drop like a rock. It is insane to be buying at current premiums IMO. Be patient and save yourself some $$$.

Disclaimer: being a lifetime stacker has been by far the poorest investment of my life. My advice, slow and steady. Spread the majority of your wealth elsewhere. Some physical is good for insurance but for god sakes stay out of the gutter and stick with gold. GooD LuCK!

The whole worlds off its rocker, buy Gold™.

• Options
    derrybderryb Posts: 36,216 ✭✭✭✭✭

stick with silver

Give Me Liberty or Give Me Debt

• Options
    WingsruleWingsrule Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭✭

@ChewliesGum

Look at the first two responses and you will see opposing viewpoints. This is common here, but don’t get discouraged. Like many things in life, some people only look at or believe the things that help support their point of view.

Many make good points. Others, not. But do your homework and read whatever you can. An informed decision usually turns out to be a good decision.

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,225 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ChewliesGum said:
    Can anyone school me on a history lesson about these massive premiums right now.
    ... how long did it take to settle back to normal?