Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1909 abraded VDB?

I'm sure there are more of these out there. I just haven't seen any photos to compare it to. I'm not sure exactly what I'm looking at. Any comments or info greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    astroratastrorat Posts: 9,221 ✭✭✭✭✭

Unfortunately, the coin looks to have PMD (post-mint damage). The surface of the VDB appears to have metal moved, possibly from a counting or rolling machine.

Numismatist Ordinaire
    See http://www.doubledimes.com for a free online reference for US twenty-cent pieces
  • Options
    Robot1010Robot1010 Posts: 173 ✭✭✭

Thanks astrorat. I'm no expert but to me it looks like the vdb was being removed and the die was being leveled out. Below the left wheat stalk appears to be more raised polishing lines between the rim and wheat stalk. Coin appears to be in au/bu condition and I'm not seeing that kind of damage anywhere else. Lower area seems consistent with vdb removal and die leveling to me. I could be wrong

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 31,952 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Robot1010 said:
    Thanks astrorat. I'm no expert but to me it looks like the vdb was being removed and the die was being leveled out. Below the left wheat stalk appears to be more raised polishing lines between the rim and wheat stalk. Coin appears to be in au/bu condition and I'm not seeing that kind of damage anywhere else. Lower area seems consistent with vdb removal and die leveling to me. I could be wrong

A lot of it depends on whether the lines are raised or recessed.

• Options

Thanks jmlanzaf. Second photo looks like raised lines. I guess it won't be confirmed until I have it attributed. I think I'm on the right track unless there's something im missing

• Options
    astroratastrorat Posts: 9,221 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Robot1010 said: