Home Q & A Forum
Options

Has anyone ever seen a coin like this...with this date? An error?....

Answers

• Options
    ms70ms70 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks too well struck to be on an undersized cent planchet.

Great transactions with oih82w8, JasonGaming, Moose1913.

• Options
    Misse007Misse007 Posts: 9
    edited November 24, 2020 5:03PM

I'm new at this so any ideas of what happened is greatly appreciated. The pic makes it look a bit more worn than it is to my eye. It's pretty shiny. I wondered if it was tarnished but it's very shiny and smooth so I don't know.

• Options
    Misse007Misse007 Posts: 9
    edited November 24, 2020 5:06PM

Here it is in more natural light.

• Options
    KliaoKliao Posts: 5,471 ✭✭✭✭✭

Do you know the weight of the coin?

Young Numismatist/collector
    75 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 45 members and counting!
    instagram.com/klnumismatics

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

It appears to be plated or suffered environmental damage. Many times, metal detector finds or other ground finds will have a copper appearance.

Other than the color, the coin appears to be a normal nickel. It has the expected size and details of a coin struck on a standard nickel planchet. I don't see anything that would indicate it could be an error in the minting process.

A nickel weighs 5.00 +/- 0.194 grams. If you weigh it on a calibrated scale with a 2 digit resolution, I would expect your coin to be within that range.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options
    ms70ms70 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 24, 2020 6:19PM

I suppose it's possible it's toning. My state quarter collection all toned deep gold. Maybe it was exposed to heat. I see little spots of nickel color around the rim.

Great transactions with oih82w8, JasonGaming, Moose1913.

• Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

It could have been plated or heated.