Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Which coin grading service would say is the most respected and why?

JruedigerJruediger Posts: 5
edited November 16, 2020 8:44PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I'm new to this hobby and, honestly, I'm just looking to get my sea legs. I'm curious as to which service I should send my coins and the reasons why you think so. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,133 ✭✭✭✭✭

I love PCGS. They have streamlined their signup services and on-line submission forms. Your coins are kept track of every step of the way in the grading process. Their customer service is really top notch. I've never had a negative experience and the fun/joy of receiving your coins back is unlike any other!

peacockcoins

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭✭✭

It depends upon the criteria you are after. Both PCGS and NGC have strengths and there are some things (like ancients) that NGC does but PCGS doesn’t.

For US coins, PCGS generally brings a better price at sell time. For many that makes them better. In my personal experience, PCGS grades more consistently as a whole and I like their slabs better.

• Options
    BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 16, 2020 3:55PM

Keep in mind would probably get a different answer if you asked the same question on the forum of a competing grading service. If you go to a Tesla forum to ask about cars, you might encounter lots of people who like Teslas. So far, the advice here seems reasonable.

The answer depends partly on what sort of stuff you intend to have graded. Also, my view is perhaps a bit jaded, but if you need to ask this question, it’s unlikely (but not impossible) that you have anything that merits professional grading. The vast majority of collectible coins aren’t rare or valuable enough to justify the expense. I’m not trying to be mean - I’ve just witnessed a ton of people who are new to the hobby spend a ton of money on unjustified grading fees.

• Options