Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Need advice on whether to open 1980 Charlotte O's sealed package containing Cal Ripken Jr.

I'm fairly new to submitting items to PSA. I found some old 1980 Charlotte O's minor league baseball cards and submitted the Cal Ripken Jr. to PSA. It came back graded as VG 3. With the open set was also a sealed unopen pack of 1980 Charlotte O's that contains the same card (I'm assuming the grade would be higher). Knowing that the pack contains Ripken's card should I open the back and submit to PSA or leave the package sealed and submit the entire team set? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Best Answers

• Options
    AFLfanAFLfan Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm for the choice that ultimately gives you the most option. As you already have the single card, unless you are dead set on upgrading and owning the nicest example possible, then I would keep your 3 and then submit the pack to be graded. You can always change your mind later and crack it. But you can never go backwards. And I don't know much about the issue, but I am guessing that a Ripken pre-rookie in an unsealed pack would be a pretty hot item.

Todd Tobias - Grateful Collector - I focus on autographed American Football League sets, Fleer & Topps, 1960-1969, and lacrosse cards.

Answers

• Options
    coinspackscoinspacks Posts: 966 ✭✭✭✭

I vote sealed set.

• Options
    blurryfaceblurryface Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭✭✭

no

• Options

@blurryface said:
    no

Are you saying "no" to opening it or "no" to submitting the pack intact?

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,214 ✭✭✭✭✭

Don't assume the card will grade higher. Many cards come out of packs off center and with other defects.

It depends on if you want to "gamble". 23 of the Ripkens have been graded and only one "7" and one "8" with none grading higher.

How does the pack look? Can you post a picture?

A PSA9 could be worth a LOT!

2013,14 and 15 Certificate Award Winner Harmon Killebrew Master Set and Master Topps Set