Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1995 US Quarter Strike Error (s)

Hi! I am new to this community. I have been collecting coins for ~50 years. I wanted to get some thoughts and observations about my 1995 "Washington Snot Blower" courtesy of the Denver mint. The divot under Washington's nose makes it look like he is blowing snot out of his nose. The coin has multiple mis-strikes on it on both the obverse & reverse.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options

OK. What could cause the damage to the 1995 & word States on the coin? BTW, it makes no difference to me if it happened at the mint or from circulation. The odds of someone being able to purposely create the divot under the nose naturally and as perfect as it did on this coin are not very high. I have often thought someone may have dropped it into some kind of machine like a tree mulcher. Who knows. To me it is super cool & one of a kind however it got its look.

• Options
    NumisOxideNumisOxide Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 3, 2020 12:27PM

Looks like one of the damaged quarters I got in rolls from the bank last week. Almost every coin in 2 rolls of quarters was wrecked. Some were so bad, and flattened that they wouldn't fit in the coin operated washing machine.

• Options

Yeah, scarcity of coins in circulation due to people staying home with their green and not spending it. You may have to go old school and fill up the bath tube with some tide............

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,776 ✭✭✭✭✭

Part of the coin is flattened, and other parts gouged. In understanding the minting process, one can tell it is all post mint damage (PMD).

P.S. - if you are paying a premium for "snot" quarters, let me know and I'll make up as many as you want. ;)

• Options
    TreashuntTreashunt Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭✭✭

technical term:

spare change

Frank

BHNC #203

• Options
    1Bufffan1Bufffan Posts: 620 ✭✭✭

"Parking Lot Classic", have been laying around and getting run over. PMD.

• Options