Home U.S. Coin Forum

2017 P Ozark Quarter - Possible Obverse Die Clash?

Hello Collectors!

This is my first time posting here as I had received answers to another coin I had before my account got approved here. I have been here many times, lurking in the shadows before. o:) So I come before all of you experts to ask for some assistance in identifying what exactly is going on with this quarter, because I can not find any information on any known die clashes for this coin....yet.

If you take a took at Washingtons neck where it meets the hairline, you can see the possible stamping of, what i can piece together to be, the cabin's right side roof and wall, posts, and even some of the bricks and cellar window (to the left) that appear on the reverse side.

Below are the pictures of the 2017 P Ozark Quarter in question. A side by side, followed by some close ups of what I spotted and an enhanced contrast version with some of the areas labeled. Speaking of which, the labels with a "2?" are other possible strikes that i didn't really notice until I turned this version upside down and enhanced the contrast. I tried to keep the upload size small, but bigger pictures can be provided if needed.

I look forward to any and all responses! Thank you so much a head of time for your time!

Comments

• OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like a clashed die to me. Nice find.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,600 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yep, die clash. Always like them but generally have no added value to the coin.

• @Oldhoopster said:
    Looks like a clashed die to me. Nice find.

Thank you!

• @TurtleCat said:

Thank you! Tho that does take a little wind out of my sails if im being honest..lol.

• ɹoʇɔǝlloɔɹoʇɔǝlloɔ Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭✭✭

what a cool find - question, as I just spent the weekend taking a loope to my change jar holdings - /how/ did you find this?