Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Why is the 2019 Pride of two Nations silver proof coin set overlooked?

I’m a novice collector. Last year I purchased the Pride of Two nations set which had a ASE W enhanced reverse proof and a special finish silver maple leaf in the set. I paid about $140 and you can still pick them up for a slight premium over issue price. Mintage was 100,000. The coin is identical to the 2019 S ASE ERP that drove so many people crazy and the maple leaf is equally impressive. How come this set can’t get any respect. Just curious, thx

Answers

• Options
    privatecoinprivatecoin Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭✭✭

Difference in mintage.

Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value. Zero. Voltaire. Ebay coinbowlllc

• Options
    pointfivezeropointfivezero Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the wonderful and wacky world of coin collecting @Orlena.

While @privatecoin is dead on with the mintage answer, I feel the Pride set is also undervalued. I purchase 15 sets from the US Mint when they were release and as you mentioned, they really never found a niche and certainly did not increase in value (yet).

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Orlena... Welcome aboard.... I also expected that set to do a lot better. It received a lot of pre-issue press and I figured the after market would be strong. So I guess the mintage did affect it. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    cagcrispcagcrisp Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Orlena said:
    I’m a novice collector. Last year I purchased the Pride of Two nations set which had a ASE W enhanced reverse proof and a special finish silver maple leaf in the set. I paid about $140 and you can still pick them up for a slight premium over issue price. Mintage was 100,000. The coin is identical to the 2019 S ASE ERP that drove so many people crazy and the maple leaf is equally impressive. How come this set can’t get any respect. Just curious, thx

The coin is NOT identical to the 2019 S American Silver Eagle.

Apples to Oranges...