Home Precious Metals
Options

Is this 1 gram of gold worth it?

Hi, newbie here, and fairly new to precious metals.

I am being offered at spot price this 1 gram sheet of 24k gold (it is really tiny). The seller will give me a printed paper of the Karatmeter reading (I think that is what the machine is called), which says that the gold is 23.97k. Would this be considered .999 pure gold, and is it normal for a 24k gram of gold to say it has 23.97k and has 0.1 of Copper?

Is buying this at spot price a good deal for this gram of sheet gold, and how easy would it be to sell later on? I am into gold for the long term, so, I would probably sell it in a few decades at least. I am guessing it would only be sold for melt value, or perhaps there might be independent buyers interested in this time of gold. Gold is gold, right? No matter the shape, form etc.

If buying at spot price this type of gold makes sense, I will consider buying more in this format since having fractional, small amounts of gold might be easier to sell later on.

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭✭

You'd likely have to sell it to an entity with a machine capable of reading out the purity such as the one in the images. Otherwise, most folks would have no interest in a tiny sliver of unknown origin. I know I would not buy it.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    JimnightJimnight Posts: 10,821 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good luck selling that.

• Options
    RonBRonB Posts: 636 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 1, 2020 7:02AM

I would recommend 1/10 oz AGE's..
    Certified if possible for authenticity.

You can usually find them near spot $.
    Each 1/10 Toz contains 3.11 grams gold.

Composition: 91.67% Gold
    Weight: 3.3930g
    AGW: 0.1000oz Troy

Everyone knows what they are.

In a few decades, when gold is $5k oz,
    everyone will still know what they are.
    They will be much easier to liquidate.

JMHO - Ron