Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Prospecting

I am not usually one to speculate on how good someone will be at the next level, mostly because I am not good at it. I have gone all in on a few players over the years only to then put them all in a yard sale box. I have even tried to do some research on a few players that were " sure things" but as we all know there is no "sure thing" . Can anybody really say that when Tom Brady was drafted in the 7th round they thought he's the one to rewrite the record books?? So my question is, Have you been successful in this practice and I would also like to know who you think will have a HOF career in say 15 years or so. Mostly I want to keep a record of it so I can see peoples predictions, and if they were right. Baseball and Football are my focus but any sport is welcome

Comments

• miwlvrnmiwlvrn Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭✭✭

I invested very heavily into Lionel Messi items early on before most in the USA had figured that one out, and it has proven to be a wise choice ;)

• Right now I have a pretty hefty investment in NY Yankees prospect Jasson Dominguez...been buying the Bowman Chrome Refractors. I am now saving up to buy the Gold (#'d to 50) and Orange (#'d to 25). I will be in tears and my wife will probably rip me a new one if he ends up in the yard sale pile.

• MoonmanMoonman Posts: 277 ✭✭✭

@otherbrotherdarrell said:
    Right now I have a pretty hefty investment in NY Yankees prospect Jasson Dominguez...been buying the Bowman Chrome Refractors. I am now saving up to buy the Gold (#'d to 50) and Orange (#'d to 25). I will be in tears and my wife will probably rip me a new one if he ends up in the yard sale pile.

I like him too, but I remember Todd Van poppel, and that makes me pause

• 19591959 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭

Greg Jefferies

ok we have all failed at this it seems, but who is the next great????

• 76collector76collector Posts: 986 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 31, 2020 1:59PM