Home U.S. Coin Forum

Seeking true expertise...This penny is on FIRE! And what are those "ocean ripples" from?!

KurisuKurisu Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭✭

Many have probably noticed the "ripples" that can sometimes be seen on the coin's mirrored surfaces when holding the coin at the correct angle.
So what the heck are those ripples from?! Please and thank you :smile:
I can't even find a reference to what these ripples are actually called.

My honest guess has been that they are from a polishing choice on the die that show on very high quality strikes?
Who is a true expert and can explain?

I posted this penny on reddit and it caused quite a stir...
Hundreds of upvotes but nobody explained those lovely ripples.
One interesting guess was that it's zinc changing shape after minting, but I have no idea...and I can see it on a brand new 2020 penny I have.

No joke it's the most incredible coin I have ever seen, held, or owned.
I've been collecting for over 40 years and have a whole lot of Proof 70's.
But this penny, this is a life affirming penny.
It really looks alive like this, even in dim light.

Coins are Neato!

"If it's a penny for your thoughts and you put in your two cents worth, then someone...somewhere...is making a penny." - Steven Wright

Tagged:

Comments

• TommyTypeTommyType Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭✭✭

You'll get better answers elsewhere....

But It is interesting in that the proper polished finish is there for a proof, but the waviness is certainly not normal....

I'm guessing either
    1) An improperly finished die(?), (jumped to the polish stage before finished).....

2) Or damage during striking(?) Certainly looks more significant than die wear, but don't know what it could strike to impart that pattern.

I'm sure someone will know....or be a better guesser than me....

Easily distracted Type Collector
  • oih82w8oih82w8 Posts: 11,869 ✭✭✭✭✭