Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Italian auction house question...

StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited August 20, 2020 5:30AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

So I've stumbled across an auction house I've never tried to bid with before. It's in Italy and has one of those 'we have no insurance if shipping overseas' type comments. Anyone say yay or nay re: the likelihood of me getting the coin I want delivered?

https://auroranumismatica.com/

Comments

• Options
    pruebaspruebas Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭✭✭

Do you think you can persuade them to ship via FedEx?

FedEx Economy can be a good option for even lower-valued items. Kuenker charged me less than €15 for an economy shipment. While it took a week instead of a day or two, I always knew where it was and had confidence it would reach me.

• Options
    TiborTibor Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭✭✭

Becareful, if your coins need "exit papers" the auction company I'm dealing with it could take a VERY LONG time. I've waited for 9 months. They said 10 weeks, then Covid19, then a supposed backlog with the Italian government, then a 1 month shutdown for a nation wide vacation. The coin I'm waiting for is a German gold coin. After this fiasco with one of the largest auction houses in Italy I will never do business with them again. I hope you fair much better. The Italian government is grasping at straws on mine and similar coins.

• Options
    StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Tibor said:
    Becareful, if your coins need "exit papers" the auction company I'm dealing with it could take a VERY LONG time. I've waited for 9 months. They said 10 weeks, then Covid19, then a supposed backlog with the Italian government, then a 1 month shutdown for a nation wide vacation. The coin I'm waiting for is a German gold coin. After this fiasco with one of the largest auction houses in Italy I will never do business with them again. I hope you fair much better. The Italian government is grasping at straws on mine and similar coins.