Home U.S. Coin Forum

How do I know how much to declare when submitting to PCGS if I am brand new to coin collecting?

I found a few coins among my dad's things after her passed. These coins look great to me and I think they could be graded very high but I am new at this and really not sure how to declare a value. Any advice? Thanks! Laurie

Best Answers

• PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,296 ✭✭✭✭✭

@SillyRbt18 said:
    I found a few coins among my dad's things after her passed. These coins look great to me and I think they could be graded very high but I am new at this and really not sure how to declare a value. Any advice? Thanks! Laurie

Getting coins slabbed is not cheap and in many cases it isn't worth the cost. Show us a few pics and we can let you know if it's worth it.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

Answers

• CalifornianKingCalifornianKing Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭✭

I'd recommend posting a few coins, since you could be easily thinking of coins that are common date, or just modern, or fake.

• Perry, Here is a pic of one coin..

• MgarmyMgarmy Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not my series but front side image looks cleaned and it could be the pic but what is the purple stuff near the 12 o’clock position

100% positive transactions with SurfinxHI, bigole, 1madman, collectorcoins, proofmorgan, Luke Marshall, silver pop, golden egg, point five zero,coin22lover, alohagary, blaircountycoin,joebb21

• It is in a Saflip and the purple is as reflection from my phone case.

Nice coin. It's worth the cost of getting it slabbed.

• MgarmyMgarmy Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭✭✭

If you get a mid level membership with our host here it will come with some vouchers you can use to send in your dads coins. Wish you all the best with your submission may the coin gods be in your favor!

100% positive transactions with SurfinxHI, bigole, 1madman, collectorcoins, proofmorgan, Luke Marshall, silver pop, golden egg, point five zero,coin22lover, alohagary, blaircountycoin,joebb21