Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1973 Pennies Questions

So, I am really new to coin collecting. I have started with the odd coins that I have run across the last few months. I pretty much just grab what interests me (and what I can afford). While I was helping a friend that is cleaning out his mother in law's house that has not been opened since around 1978, I ran across this thing. I can't find much on it, but I ended up picking it up for a dollar. I am just wondering if anyone can educate me on it some. I don't know if it helps, but I have noticed that it is magnetic, and I have never seen magnetic lucite before. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Becky7474Becky7474 Posts: 103 ✭✭✭

Welcome! Sorry I can't answer your question.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

@CalicoJack10 ....Welcome aboard....That looks like a novelty decorative paperweight.... Lucite is not magnetic, so it must have something to do with the contents...perhaps fake coins.... Cheers, RickO

• Options
    FredWeinbergFredWeinberg Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭✭✭

Photo lighting isn't the best,
    but they certainly look plated
    to me.

Retired Collector & Dealer in Major Mint Error Coins & Currency since the 1960's.Co-Author of Whitman's "100 Greatest U.S. Mint Error Coins", and the Error Coin Encyclopedia, Vols., III & IV. Retired Authenticator for Major Mint Errors
    for PCGS. A 49+-Year PNG Member...A full numismatist since 1972, retired in 2022
  • Options

@CaptHenway said:
    How strong is the magnetic attraction?

One possibility is that the cents were chrome plated and then copper plated so that they looked uniform before the embedment. Chrome will attract to a magnet. J

I thought about that. But it's not weak enough to be plating. And there is one penny that is tarnished just enough to see that they are just in good shape. It was enough I could feel it with a fridge magnet, but not enough to make it stick.

• Options
    HydrantHydrant Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭✭✭