Home U.S. Coin Forum

how would you conserve these proof coins?

KccoinKccoin Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭✭✭

These two coins are pretty solid aside from the "stuff" . Does anyone have any advice on how to properly remove the gunk without damaging the coin surface? I have no experience dealing with copper or nickel.

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Start with pure acetone (not the nail polish remover - the good stuff)...let it soak (covered, because acetone evaporates fast) for a few hours, then swish it around... do NOT rub it. Put new acetone in the dish and let it soak some more. Then take a Qtip and roll it gently where any remaining gunk is...not rub, roll. It should come off.... let us know what happens. Cheers, RickO

• SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,477 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ricko said:
    Start with pure acetone (not the nail polish remover - the good stuff)...let it soak (covered, because acetone evaporates fast) for a few hours, then swish it around... do NOT rub it. Put new acetone in the dish and let it soak some more. Then take a Qtip and roll it gently where any remaining gunk is...not rub, roll. It should come off.... let us know what happens. Cheers, RickO

And rinse in distilled water.

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,507 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would second what's already been written.

But it is likely terminal, especially in a proof. You are always going to see the spots even if you can remove the gunk.

• coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 11,165 ✭✭✭✭✭

The crime is over but the evidence cannot be erased. Having said that getting the PVC off now is the best thing to do.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,112 ✭✭✭✭✭

I agree with acetone. I would also consider MS70 on the nickel.

• dpooledpoole Posts: 5,940 ✭✭✭✭✭

Look like the dreaded PVC, alright.

Do the soak and the Q-tip gentle roll like ricko said...and pray.

• BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭✭