Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Thoughts on "First Graded" ? 77 Topps Carews

Hi all. I am back in the game. I got out for a while but never stopped collecting. I am currently sitting on over 1000 1975 thru 1980 cards that I feel are 8 or above (hopefully above). My first 15 card renewal sub is gonna be fifteen ’75 Topps Roses (#320). I have about 35-40 more of these that I personally consider gradeable but these are some of my best ones IMHO.

Anyhow, here is my question for the board. I am not a GAI guy but I do buy their stuff sometimes if I think it is a crack out candidate for PSA or unopened material. I have two 77 Carews (GAI 9, 9.5) that I am considering cracking out. The 9.5 is really nice and I think it would have a chance at a 10 .It originally was a DGF card (i.e., Phil A) and I know he was quite picky. Does the term "first graded" mean anything in the collecting world? I have never really put much stock in it but again, I am no GAI expert by no means. Sorry for the poor pics but my scanner is out of commission. I will fix that issue soon! Great to see so many of you still around on here!

Thoughts and opinions are very much appreciated! Bobby

Comments

• Options
    mrmoparmrmopar Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭✭

It looks like they may have labeled each for a given card. I was thinking maybe it was the first 77 Carew, but with both having that label, they obviously did that for different grades of the same card.

I don't see how anyone could possibly care about that whatsoever, other than it could literally be considered a "variation" for that truly crazy collector who needs ANYTHING, but I'm sure there is a small percentage of people that feel it is worth something more than a regular 9.5 or 9.

That is a great card. Both AS first base men got great cards that year (Garvey in NL).

I collect Steve Garvey, Dodgers and signed cards. Collector since 1978.
  • Options
    bobbybakerivbobbybakeriv Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭✭