Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

From Face Value to Major Keys: A humble collection and starting off some YNs

airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 21,910 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been handling eBay consignments for 17 years (for those of you who met me in high school, I bet you feel pretty old now, don't ya?). One of the aspects I particularly enjoy is that I get to handle all sorts of material, including lots of coins I wouldn't otherwise have any reason to see. Sometimes, I just get to handle a nice collection and appreciate a collector's work. I was just reminded of such a collection, so, a little story.

In mid 2015 I was contacted by someone saying he was looking to sell his late father's collection, and could I help. I found out generally what was in the collection and it sounded like a nice little set--a run of all the years of the father's life, plus some additional coins or dates he felt important. The collection came to me all raw, binder pages full of 2x2 flips. As I went through them, I couldn't help but notice that every coin was treated exactly the same. There were the modern coins worth little more than face value. There were the "collector" coins of all types spanning the late 19th and most of the 20th century. Oh, and there were the keys. Tucked into their spot with a little label like all the others were the 1916 Standing Liberty Quarter, the 1901-S Barber Quarter, the 1916-D Merc, the 1909-S VDB, the 1893-S Morgan, the 1877 Indian Cent, among other keys, all VF-AU (some details, some problem-free). That's when I really fell in love with the collection. Yes, these were exciting coins to handle (and I won't complain about the commission), but I was thrilled to see a collection that was so clearly a labor of love, and while some coins were worth orders of magnitude more than others, they were treated just the same, as only all together did they make this collector's collection complete.