Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Acetone dip event...

joeykoinsjoeykoins Posts: 14,912 ✭✭✭✭✭

Here is a 1967 Canadian Dollar. This coin has a toning I'm not pleased with. So, I decided to "Dip" it! Only problem is that I'm a novice in this. Last time I tried this I destroyed a Jefferson nickel. Lol. Luckily, the nickel was insignificant. Just bought a new can of Acetone. Should I just place the Dollar in a glass jar with a small amount of Acetone and let sit for awhile? Thanks guy's!

"Jesus died for you and for me, Thank you,Jesus"!!!

--- If it should happen I die and leave this world and you want to remember me. Please only remember my opening Sig Line.

Comments

• Options
    CoinscratchCoinscratch Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't think it removes toning but it does remove glue as I finally had a successful event myself. I'll post pics later once my son gets off my phone :*

• Options

What should I do to make sure I don't destroy this coin? I know, no q-tip and no rubbing, right? Should I let soak for an hour or sooner, longer? Thanks

--- If it should happen I die and leave this world and you want to remember me. Please only remember my opening Sig Line.
  • Options
    JRoccoJRocco Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭✭

Put in in a glass jar with enough acetone to cover the coin.
    Try a short soak for maybe 10 minutes to see how it looks.
    You can always put is back for a longer soak if desired.
    Good luck !

Some coins are just plain "Interesting"
  • Options

I never dip more than a few minutes max. Even a few seconds can destroy a coin but if its not a big deal then its not a big deal, right. Honestly, if a coin has any significant value and has a nice luster the only thing I'm dipping it in is a flip.
    Now, if its a beautiful coin but has a spot rendering it worthless well, let it soak.

• Options
    android01android01 Posts: 306 ✭✭✭✭✭