Home U.S. Coin Forum

Help with unusual 1809 Half Cent

BliggityBliggity Posts: 200 ✭✭✭
edited March 16, 2020 4:48AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I have been working on die & die state attributions for my half-cent set. I'm very new to this, but I have come across some unusual features on my 1809 9-over-inverted-9 coin. I saw this when I first acquired the coin but just started looking at it more closely today. It was originally in an NGC 40 holder without the 9/i9 variation noted, but it's clearly the 9/i9 and fits all the diagnostics for Cohen-5 / Breen-5. However, there are lots of die chips / remnants on the reverse that don't match any of the die states listed in the Manley book. The weak or missing dentilation suggests 2.0 or 3.0, and the description for 3.0 indicates there may be multiple clash marks within the wreath. But, on my coin: the "O" in "OF" is almost completely filled with a die chip and there is another chip adjacent to the "F"; there is a strange protrusion from the leaf near the "T" in "CENT" and a chip above the "T"; and there are also apparent chips inside the "C" in "CENT" and coming from the adjacent leaf. None of the Manley plates show these features, which would seem to suggest that this is a die state with additional damage beyond Manley 3.0. I have searched for other 1809 9/i9 variations online and have not found one with similar features. Have any of you half-cent collectors seen a similar coin? What would be the proper way to list the attribution for the coin?

Thanks in advance!

1809 Half Cent

Comments

• Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'd say it's lucky that coin is no longer in an NGC slab anymore. I suggest you send it to them again. It would be best not to mention that it was once slabbed so they can take a fresh unbiased look at the coin,

• burfle23burfle23 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 15, 2020 5:58PM