Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

My toned gold newp! Will she grade?

jwittenjwitten Posts: 5,077 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just got this in today! Gorgeous purple/blue toning, mostly on the reverse. Tons of luster. A tiny bit of hairlines above the eagle on the reverse. Also, is that circular spot on the obverse a strike through? What do you think, will she grade?

Comments

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,443 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think it should grade.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    davewesendavewesen Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭✭✭

I also think it will grade, unless they decide the circle is graffiti

• Options
    ironmanl63ironmanl63 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am no expert but I have my doubts. The circle on the obverse looks like graffiti to me. Are the edges raised?

• Options

• Options

@FredWeinberg Do you think that is a strike through? And if so, a big enough one to grade as an error?

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 5, 2020 12:31PM

Looks like a strike thru. However, it also l9oks like some starts-an-stops inside the depression which would indicate graffiti. You have the actual coin to check.

• Options
    ashelandasheland Posts: 22,694 ✭✭✭✭✭

61 is what I'm thinking. Nice little coin! :)

• Options
    Winchester1873Winchester1873 Posts: 201 ✭✭✭✭

I’ve seen some of the more knowledgeable folks on here suggest that iodine was applied when gold shows that color. Others have suggested leather pouch storage causes that deep purplish tone. As for me, I like like the color and sharp strike. Nice coin! Please keep us posted on the grade results!

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,443 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like a strike through. It's either a piece of thread, wire or a short and curly hair.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    topstuftopstuf Posts: 14,803 ✭✭✭✭✭

@PerryHall said:
    Looks like a strike through. It's either a piece of thread, wire or a short and curly hair.