Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What would be a good start?

I’m new to collecting and have been thinking of putting together a certain type collection like maybe barber half’s. What would be your guys recommendations on what would be good to start with that won't break the bank. I have a lot of the modern coins like silver eagles ..
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    CoinstartledCoinstartled Posts: 10,135 ✭✭✭✭✭

I started out with 1932-64 Washington Quarters.

The two keys are readily available and you can learn how to complete a set without much risk if you stay away from the top of population coins.

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,589 ✭✭✭✭✭

It all depends upon your collecting interests. I think an interesting series might be the classic commemorative half dollars. Many interesting designs and the halves are generally obtainable by type.

Another easier series might be a premium Eisenhower dollar set in solver or clad. More challenging than you think but inexpensive.

Franklin half dollars are readily obtainable and if you don’t try for the ultra premium you can get most grades very affordably.

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,936 ✭✭✭✭✭

Look to collecting foreign coins or medals. US coins are fully priced, especially the key dates and high grade specimens.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    SonorandesertratSonorandesertrat Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭✭✭

A type set of Barber halves consists of one coin. :p

A date set (1892-1915) could be fun. A complete set (ignoring the 1892 micro-O variety) would be a long slog if you want coins that look nice for their grades. You should first look at recent prices for coins in various grades to get an idea of whether you want to seriously have a go at a full date/MM set (more than 70 coins).

Member: EAC, NBS, C4, CWTS, ANA

RMR: 'Wer, wenn ich schriee, hörte mich denn aus der Engel Ordnungen?'

CJ: 'No one!' [Ain't no angels in the coin biz]
  • Options
    amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭