Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2017 D Roosevelt Dime. True Doubled Die or Machine Doubling?

I'm still learning how to differentiate between machine doubling and a true doubled die, but I have been reading a lot and have even discovered that both errors can be found on a single coin. Other than the obverse and reverse image of the whole coin, all other photos were taken with a USB microscope. Several of the letters and images on both sides appear to be doubled, including the ear on the obverse and the flames and bottoms of branches on the reverse.
I tried getting photos under various lighting and angles and hope that it will enable you to help me make better sense of what I'm seeing. Thanks again!

Comments

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,755 ✭✭✭✭✭

Although there are known examples, coins with true doubled dies on both sides are extremely uncommon. So, if you see doubling on both sides that is a big tip off that it is almost certainly MD.

• Options
    HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the CU forums @HRN.

Info on MD:
    http://www.error-ref.com/machine-doubling/

DD versus other Forms of Doubling
    Snapshot of the first page:

More at:
    http://conecaonline.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/StrikeDoublingFlyer-1.pdf

• Options
    DIMEMANDIMEMAN Posts: 22,403 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks MD to me.

• Options
    CRH4LIFECRH4LIFE Posts: 849 ✭✭✭✭