Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

attrition rates from circulation

Has anyone ever done a mathematical study of the attrition rate of coins from circulation? It may be obvious from this question that I'm a mathematician. A simple (but probably pretty good) model would be that a certain percentage of coins are lost from circulation each year (the attrition rate). The rate probably varies from denomination to denomination and with time and other factors. People would be more likely to safeguard higher denominations, and it's probably harder to lose larger coins. The attrition rate would be expected to vary as the economy gradually evolved from cash transactions to credit. The attrition rate probably changed for certain coins as interest in coin collecting evolved, as the minting of regular gold and then silver coins were terminated, etc. One way to obtain data for such a study would be to find hordes of coins that were saved years ago (with no emphasis on dates) and perhaps even from wishing wells and other places where coins are thrown. It would be interesting to obtain estimates of when certain rarities and old designs began to vanish from circulation. For a simple study one might assume a constant attrition rate, try different values, and search for a value that is consistent with a known date when a certain coin started to become scare (e.g., the buffalo nickel by the mid 1960s).

Comments

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

That would be an incredibly complex study....and I am not at all sure such information, if indeed there was any way to gather it, could be even reasonably reliable. Having spent many years dealing with studies, analysis and data accumulation, I would be loathe to even approach it. Good luck to anyone who attempts it....Cheers, RickO

• Options
    SaorAlbaSaorAlba Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭✭✭

Too many variables at play to come up with a rational answer.

In memory of my kitty Seryozha 14.2.1996 ~ 13.9.2016 and Shadow 3.4.2015 - 16.4.21