Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Old coin, I want to buy, no idea want it is.

acadienacadien Posts: 635 ✭✭✭
edited November 18, 2019 6:48PM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

Please take a look, I can buy this coin.
Thanks for you advises.

Comments

• Options
    BoosibriBoosibri Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like a Dolph Lundren commemorative

• Options

Got the coin, able to add better picture. What your touhgt?

• Options

Terrible pictures, let me try again.....

• Options

Weight 9.67 gr, measure approx, 21mm x 3mm thk

• Options

Could it be laureate head right. Rev: IMP XXII COS XVII CENS PPP, Minerva standing left with spear

• Options
    BillDugan1959BillDugan1959 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 17, 2019 5:16PM

It strikes me as Greek/ Hellenistic, couple of centuries before Christ. Maybe Macedonia. Maybe Cappadocia. Extremely worn. I kinda doubt that it is Roman, but I am no expert.

• Options
    edited November 17, 2019 8:06PM

In the Numismatics archives, the coins B.C. are Greek, Celtic, Roman and Provincial. I also done a research on Greek, Macedonia an Cappadocia. Found a couple of similarity, but nothing close enough. You must of notice on the reverse side the woman has a spear with 3 forks at 09h00 o'clock.

It weight quite a bit 9,69 gram. But these day's the weight it by grain. Therefore it would be 149,53 grain. It weight and feel like gold when I hold it. Hum wonder?

• Options

just kidding not gold loll

• Options

I am no expert either BillDugan . I would greatly appreciate to ear from an expert, there got to be somebody on this world and ancient forum.

Hello, anyone out there, your help is needed on this forum. Thanks

• Options
    edited November 17, 2019 10:02PM