Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

NY Sales tax on eBay is increasing my business from NY

jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,029 ✭✭✭✭✭

As I anticipated, now that NY residents have to pay sales tax on all eBay purchases, they no longer avoid me. LOL.

As a NY business, I've been charging sales tax on NY sales for 20 years. As a result, most NY residents tried to shop out of state to avoid the sales tax. Now that they can't avoid the sales tax, it doesn't matter who they buy from.

Whether the inability to avoid sales tax is affecting purchase price is harder to ascertain. I think there is a tendency to just accept the sales tax when it is inevitable. I mean, have you ever insisted on a discount on a shirt or car tires because of the sales tax? There may be an adjustment period, but I think it has been much ado about nothing.

I do wish they'd go to a national tax that applies to everyone equally. As things currently stand, if you are in a state that either has a coin exemption or no internet sales tax, you are at a competitive advantage over us poor slobs in sales tax states.

Just an observation. I've done more coin sales to NY residents in the last month - a usually slow month - than in the previous 6 months.

Comments

• Options
    CoinstartledCoinstartled Posts: 10,135 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jmlanzaf said:

I do wish they'd go to a national tax that applies to everyone equally. As things currently stand, if you are in a state that either has a coin exemption or no internet sales tax, you are at a competitive advantage over us poor slobs in sales tax states.

Sorry that I have an advantage. Please consider moving here. 101 degrees but low humidity.

:)

• Options
    ctf_error_coinsctf_error_coins Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Coinstartled said:

@jmlanzaf said:

Sorry that I have an advantage. Please consider moving here. 101 degrees but low humidity.

The same advantage in California with a resale license or go big and spend over $1500 for no sales tax.

Plus we got the Pacific.

• Options