Home Precious Metals

Need a hand to identify this coin if possible, Im still learning.

Hi all my collecting silver is still fun but every so often I run into a find I get limited info on. This I found in a store it only weighs 28.9 Grams. It slides down my magnet slide like silver feels like silver but the weight concerns me. Would anyone have an idea if this is .999 silver or not? Or have any further information that would help me out? Thanks very much!

Comments

• derrybderryb Posts: 36,584 ✭✭✭✭✭

some type of token/medal. If it were silver it would most likely be marked with silver content.

"How many times can a man turn his head and pretend he just doesn’t see?” - Bob Dylan

• thisistheshowthisistheshow Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭✭✭

Do you have a local coin shop? Many have a testing instrument now.

• rob1083rob1083 Posts: 16
    edited June 16, 2019 11:21AM

Damn it I knew I should have passed on it lol. It looked felt and slood on that slide just like silver grrrrr,,,,,,It just weighed light I was trying to avoid ruining it with an acid test.

• It was from a LCS but the guy seemed unsure of the coin. He said if your not comfortable don't buy it. I really liked the graphic so I took a chance on it (Which I never do) because I'm still so new at stacking silver, I'm very skiddish. I paid a buck over spot ehhhh what can I do Im still a noob lol

• cohodkcohodk Posts: 18,940 ✭✭✭✭✭

Dont ever buy silver rounds unless they are marked at least .999, because no one will buy them from you.

Excuses are tools of the ignorant

Knowledge is the enemy of fear

• HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 16, 2019 12:55PM

@rob1083

Since there are no markings (show a pic of the edge) why do you think it’s Ag in the first place?

http://www.rlhs.org/

http://www.pacificcoastchapterrlhs.org/