Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Which card do you consider to be the True RC of a player?

MLBdaysMLBdays Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭✭✭

`

Which card do you consider to be the True RC of a player?

Sign in to vote!
This is a public poll: others will see what you voted for.

Comments

• Options
    Desert_Ice_SportsDesert_Ice_Sports Posts: 285 ✭✭✭
    The XRC issued sometimes a couple years or more prior to the players actual MLB 1st season?

There's a growing belief in the hobby that a player's true rookie card is the very first card issued of that player, whether it's a regular issue card or not... In vintage circles, good examples are the 1946 Propagandas Montiel Stan Musial, and the 1925 Exhibit Lou Gehrig, both fairly recently embraced as ture rookies.

As for the shiny, new cards, I'm no expert, but it baffles me that a 2017 card could possibly be considered a rookie when the same player has a regular issue, major league card from 2013... How does that logic work, exactly??

DesertIceSports.Com

• Options
    daltexdaltex Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭✭✭

1952 Topps.

• Options
    brad31brad31 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am not voting. Not that much of a modern collector and I can see both cards having a valid argument. I am interested to see people’s opinions.

In the 80’s I always considered the traded card the rookie card and was in the first card camp. Both were considered rookie cards with varying opinions on which was the rookie.

Now that it is years before The debut I am not sure it is clear cut.

I guess I would call the bowman a pre-rookie card and the heritage a rookie card. I can see both having premium value over the player’s subsequent cards.

Very interested in seeing how the poll turns out.

• Options
    DBesse27DBesse27 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 24, 2019 5:29AM

I don’t count Bowman prospect cards, other minor league cards or collegiate cards as “rookie cards.” They’re awesome, I collect them, but they’re not rookie cards in my opinion.