Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

87redcivic's 2019 Pittsburgh ANA Show Report

I'm local to south of the Pittsburgh area and don't really travel for coin shows. I when I heard that the ANA was doing a show at the convention center, I blocked out the date on my calendar in permanent black ink. This comes around to Pittsburgh roughly only once in a decade, and I wasn't going to miss it.

I used to work in downtown Pittsburgh. For the past couple years, I've been working east of the city. Since it was a beautiful day (for March), I decided to do a "walking tour" to see what had changed since I had last stomped around downtown. I parked in Station Square which is in the south part of the city. With my want list in hand, I walked my way north to the David Lawrence Convention Center.

This is my want list. I feel the need to almost apologize for it. I'm a reader of the message boards, and I've heard multiple times... "don't spread yourself too thin." I've been collecting since 2002, and I seem to pick up a new series every time I start feeling burned out on an old one. Or, I will switch back to an old series if I start feeling "the well is dry" on a category. This is the end result (shrug).

So although this is my "want list", I was only focusing on a few columns on the want list today. This was on my "real" want list today:

• A 1937 Mirror Specimen Canadian dime for roughly $100 to $150 with good eye appeal to match the "Matte" one I already have.
    • A small diameter capped bust half dollar to fit into my Half Dollar type album with a good price/look ratio.
    • An early commem half dollar (maybe two) with a good price/look ratio.
    • Some nice seated or capped bust dimes to add to my album.
    • Anything that I saw that "jumped out of the case" that was listed on my want list as something I didn't have (i.e. a target of opportunity)
    • A little bit of 90% so I finish off a quarter roll I was building.
    • Some good pics so I could write a killer show report.