Home U.S. Coin Forum

Opinions on obtaining more coins

I've been using a local bank for the last 4 months to get coins to sort through. Today they told me they could no longer order coins due to the fact that they are being charged a shipping fee which they will not allow me to pay. Any advice on any other ways to obtain large amounts of coin to sort

Best Answers

Answers

• BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭✭

Go to a different bank.

:)

• @BryceM said:
    Go to a different bank.

:)

do you know of a bank that does not charge fees for ordering coin?

• ms70ms70 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭✭

If they're ordering them for you it must be quite an unusual amount you are searching.

Great transactions with oih82w8, JasonGaming, Moose1913.

• @ms70 said:
    If they're ordering them for you it must be quite an unusual amount you are searching.

I've been doing about 500$ in nickels and 100$ in pennies per week

• HemisphericalHemispherical Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭✭✭

That’s rare in this day and age... no fees.

Good while it lasted @Calvinhardiman.

Might be hard to find another bank to do the same and depends on how large a city/town you live in.

• @JBK said:
    I don't know in what type of area you live, but where I am there are more banks and credit unions and their branches than I can remember. I would open a number of accounts (just small deposits on basic free accounts, if necessary) to get a foothold in each bank and then get what you can get. That might mean boxes, or loose rolls.

Be careful how you work it. For example, if you order or get coins from one bank, don't bring your rejects back there. If they are nice enough to give you coins, don't dump huge quantities back on them - that is an imposition on both sides of the equation.

On the other hand, if a bank or branch will not give you coins, make that your dump bank. Bring all your rejects to that bank. >:)